New Year, New Identity

Good Monday and Happy New Year!

I can’t believe that another year is already gone. It seems like so much has happened this past year, and yet, it came and went in the blink of an eye. I hope all of you had a wonderful time bringing in 2014 with family and friends.

I was able to welcome 2014 with my good friend Nina Storey! She came back to Colorado to play a New Year’s Eve show at the Soiled Dove, the same venue she played for the CF benefit last April. When I heard of the news she was going to be here for New Year’s, I contacted her to see if I could sit in on another song with her. She got back to me, enthusiastic about collaborating once again. Due to time constraints, we decided we would play the same tune I played with her in April, Sing For Me by Yellowcard. Most of my friends tried to get me to go to a different concert but I was unable to turn down the opportunity to play drums with Nina and her band once again.

Nina Storey

It was a much quieter New Year’s than last year. My friend Greg and I met our good friend Julie and some other friends in downtown Denver for dinner and to watch the fireworks. Afterward, Greg and I headed to the Soiled Dove for Nina’s concert. Unfortunately, Nina had some flu-like symptoms that day and cut her set short; however, she still put on a great performance and I was able to drum my tune fifteen minutes into 2014 for a packed house.

Although it ended up being more of a mellow New Year’s celebration than most would have when 23 years old, it was perfectly satisfying. It was a great event to start 2014 off right and, as most do, I hope this year will be better than the last.

In reminiscing 2013, it took me awhile to pinpoint a single word or phrase that could describe the year overall. Let me recap the moments or events I took into consideration.

The Good

Probably the best thing about 2013 was meeting Nina through the Colorado Chapter of the CF Foundation. I was able to do a internet radio show with her and performed for the first time in a professional atmosphere. In the spring, I was promoted as a manager at Eric’s. In the summer, I was able to move into the condo above Eric’s I have always wanted to live in. I was also able to volunteer for the SCY summer service trip in Denver which not only was too much fun but also very rewarding. I helped my dad drive across the country in his move to Florida which was a great opportunity to spend time together.

The Bad

At the beginning of the year, two of my roommates bailed on me and left me with being responsible in covering their part of the rent. The process of moving out of that condo was a nightmare. I had a hiccup in September and had to spend 11 days in the hospital and, in the midst of that, I had a scare I was going to lose my health insurance.

The Ugly

There isn’t an easy way to put the ugly: many of the people I thought I could trust, who I surrounded myself with in Breckenridge, ended up in betrayal. My relationships with these people, friendly and romantic, revealed themselves as hollow leaving me feeling used and alone.

Now, when I look at all these events and memories, the bad and the ugly seem to outweigh the good; however, before jumping to an ugly conclusion, I read in between the lines.

The Year of 2013: Lessons Learned

For me, 2013 did kind of feel like a wasted year, but it’s not wasted if I learn from my mistakes.

Lessons Learned

  1. When living with roommates, never be the only one to sign a lease.
  2. Hospital stays are good for me, when necessary.
  3. Stay level-headed, research all the facts, and have a plan for the worst-case scenario.
    …and the most important:
  4. Don’t forget my identity by letting others affect me so easily.

When I look at the bad and the ugly of 2013 and find lessons or wisdom behind them, as straightforward or abstract as they may be, it no longer becomes a wasted year. It was rough and I made my fair share of mistakes, even a couple second offenses and some that turned me into someone I’m not, but they showed me two images of myself: someone I never wanted to be and someone I want to become.

My New Year’s Resolution is just that, and I hope you can add this to your list as well: Don’t forget your identity.

There are so many factors like people, places, things, commercials, that person you despise at work, that job you would rather have, that love interest that seems so important, that place you would rather be, those people you want to fit in with that end up diluting your identity into becoming something that you’re not. In looking back, there were many times I became someone I did not recognize to be me because of outside factors.

We all have an identity, a character of sorts in this thing that we call life. Do your best to be in your character. It’s essential to the overall production. Besides, it always feels unnatural when a character is broken; the director will know it, the audience will know it, and you will know it.

Don’t forget your identity in this new year of 2014.

Happy New Year everyone! Until next Monday!

Keep Fighting, Keep Breathing, Live Today, Say Tomorrow

keepbreathing65

Leave a Reply

