Happy Holiday Tradition

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays! Apologies for posting on Tuesday this week; I had a very long weekend at work.

I have always looked forward to Christmas. It’s a time when family members from one side of the country travel to the other in order to spend time together. It’s a time when employers and professors allow their employees and students a break from work and school. It’s a time when people realize how rewarding giving can be. It’s an all around good holiday.

Every year since I can remember, either on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day, my mom would throw a Christmas party for all of our friends and family. She would prepare a nice big dinner for everyone from appetizers to dessert. As we munched on appetizers, we would help ourselves to some beverages (usually wine or beer; soda when I was younger) and catch up with everyone. We would do our best to chow down all of the main course but there seemed to always be leftovers. After eating, we would all play a game or two; something like Taboo, Trivial Pursuit, Buzzword, or Catchphrase.

Three of my best friends I have known since childhood (Hannah, Andy, and Nicole) and their families were always the main cast but as the years went on, our party grew. My first girlfriend and her family joined the scene when I came back from my first semester in college as did my mom’s boyfriend. During my second year of college, I invited my other friend Greg and his family to join in our holiday festivities. Through my last two years of college, we always expected at least 15 people when it only began with eight of us.

I always tried to catch the girls under the mistletoe, our parents always had a few too many drinks, Andy’s dad would always announce our game like it was on ESPN, I would always wear a Santa’s hat and hand out gifts at the end of the night, and it was always something we all looked forward to.

Tradition must go on and we are having our traditional holiday party tonight, but this year will be a little quieter. As us kids have all grown up, we are all in different places now. We all live in different places now with full-time, grown-up jobs and my friends can hardly get back to their extended Breckenridge family to share a night full of food, laughs, and holiday fun. I’m going to miss everyone who won’t be able to make it this year.

Although it won’t quite be the same, I am still grateful for those who are still coming despite their busy schedule. Just because the crowd will be different and smaller, the motive hasn’t changed: sharing new memories and being together.

I hope all of you are able to spend the holidays with your extended family, and by extended family I mean your friends as well. All of my friends that are always invited to my holiday festivities I consider my brothers and sisters, my aunts and uncles. Christmas is considered a “family” holiday, but make sure to extend that meaning of family a little bit further this year. It’s about spending time with the important people in your life.

If you haven’t already, I encourage you to extend and add to your family traditions this year. Next thing you know, after spending the holidays with someone new this year, you won’t be able to believe how you’ve gone so long without celebrating the holidays with them. And next year, you won’t be able to imagine celebrating without them.

Merry Christmas! Happy Holidays!

Keep Fighting, Keep Breathing, Live Today, Say Tomorrow

keepbreathing65

P.S. Hope you have been good this year! Santa flies tonight! Don’t forget the milk, cookies and carrots! He needs energy to go around the world in one night!

One thought on “Happy Holiday Tradition

  1. Dave Ernst says:

    Tony, I enjoyed your blog about the holidays and reminds me of my childhoood. This is Dave your Mom’s cousin in Lancaster, PA. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

